THE B-MOVIE GODFATHER

WechatIMG83-300x300

By 文章 Gavin Blackburn 音乐记者
视频:Lydia Mcaulay 造梦社
翻译 Translation:Han Shu 王涵澍


 

对于任何想要从事音乐的人来说,Mark Reeder的职业生涯就像领英的必备清单。起初他在 Virgin Records曼彻斯特旗舰店实习,1978年他来到柏林,在如今是德国传奇代表的Factory Records工作。同时他也继续管理着女子乐队Malaria!,并且带着乐队Shark Vegas和另一只乐队New Ordery一起巡演。1989年,柏林墙倒塌后,他在东德成立了第一个舞曲厂牌MFS,他甚至制作了在东德发布的最后一张流行唱片《Torture by Die Vision》。他通过我拍摄的记录和巡演向整个德国展现了John Peel,并且发现超级巨星DJ Paul van Dyk。作为90年代EDM的子类型迷幻乐的最早先驱之一,在Smirnoff Wall of Sound纪录片中将Mark称为 “柏林的音乐教父” 一点也不夸张。像Pet Shop Boys和Depeche一样投入一些混音并且拥有几张自己专辑,你以为他会以客观的收入开开心心的隐退,无需再证明自己。然而,关于讲述分裂时期德国的音乐状况的B级片《Lust ans Sound in West Berlin 1989-1989》相关的一次发生在2013年的对话,却成为了Mark事业生涯中最具有争议性的一次成功。

 WechatIMG75-300x300

 

你是怎么获取这部片子的想法的?

我对于B级片最初的想法来自于一段Heiko Lange和制作人Joerg Hoppe的一段对话。他们都想制作关于20世纪80年代柏林场景的纪录片,但是Joerg并不想做传统对话形式的片子,他的想法是用图像拼接的方法和80年代的音乐结合,于是他来问我愿不愿意帮他修复他在影片中需要使用到的音乐,如此一来可以在影院中获得非常好的效果。而当时我刚发布了一张环绕立体声专辑《5.1》,所以他问我能不能将电影中的音乐也改编成5.1环绕立体声道。

在我们的交谈中,我建议我先发给他一些我在那段时间制作的但是没有公开过的镜头。于是我就发给他了,但是两天以来我都没有得到任何反馈,后来他才打来电话。这种感觉让我十分恐惧,我一直在想,天哪,我到底给了他什么?!

他看了我的小样之后得出的结论是,作为一个有着80年代德国的生活经历的英国人,应该由我来讲述当时的故事,这样能带给影片更多的个人感受。

 

MV5BMTQ4ODIxMzk3Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTMyNzg4NjE@._V1_-225x300

 

你有没有什么想和我们分享的有关这部影片的特别的故事呢?

其实并没有啦,在我之前提到的那件事之前我没想过会有人对我的生活产生兴趣。因为对我来说就是日常而已。但是我开始意识到我其实经历了很多,我有很多的故事但是我可能不太知道应该从哪里讲起。

 

在这部影片中,社会纪实和你当时的个人经历分别占了多少比例呢?

某种程度上来说,都是我的个人经历啦。但是影片中的图片所反映的都是社会纪实。它展现了一个墙内的城市,这种说法听起来让人绝望,但是它呈现的景象确实是一个弱小的群体如何对抗周围徘徊不去的障碍以及在这种情况下这群拥有创意的人到底创造了些什么。

 

这部电影涵盖了每个人都能拍照以及记录他们生活的每一分钟的早期的手机。要追踪这样的电影镜头有多困难呢?

我之前为英国或者瑞典的的电视节目拍过一些镜头,也有几部电影我在里面出场过,所以我积累很多的镜头可以用来处理。而且我还幸运的结识了大部分当地的电影制作人,所以我也能非常容易的获得一些素材,特别是,比如说我们共同的朋友Knut Hoffmeister带来了两个手提箱的Super8的镜头。而最困难的是在这些素材中找到那些能和那个时代、那些故事所匹配的部分。

你们所创造的西柏林让我们觉得每个俱乐部都很朋克,每家唱片店都有大卫·鲍伊的碟,每个角落都有间谍……当时真的是这样的吗?

当然不是。当时只有几个俱乐部和酒吧,鲍伊已经走了,但是确实到处都是间谍。柏林充满生机,但是这样的场面很少,我们是少有的接触过这些的。每一次活动都会有新的乐队出现,但是现实其实是相同的人换了新的伪装。

要是回到过去,你知道自己会成为这几年被谈论的 “场景” 的一部分吗?

成为场景的一部分其实就已经是进化的过程了,你永远都想不到事情会变成什么样更别说回到过去了。我们当时从来都不会考虑未来,因为我们都认为迟早会死于核武器。事后看来,那时的想法相当简单粗暴。我是电影场景的一部分,如今我们能通过回顾过去并且对过去给音乐界带来的影响作出反应。如果在当时,我根本不会去考虑音乐,因为它才刚变得具有创造性而已。如果可以的话,我其实希望能有更多和那个时代有关的影片和相片呢。

WechatIMG81-300x300

80年代的西柏林确实产出了一大批有趣实验性的乐队,他们对音乐到底有怎样的影响呢?

我觉得只有三个乐队确确实实对于国际艺术和音乐领域有持续性的影响,他们是Einstuerzende Neubauten, Malaria! 以及 Die Toedliche Doris。他们就像柏林先锋派的三大件。Neubauten是完全意义上特立独行和原创性的,他们选择用垃圾和旧建筑材料代替传统乐器来演出,Neubauten毫无疑问地影响了一批乐队,像Depeche Mode便因此改变了自己的音乐风格;Malaria!是一个全女子的先锋派乐队,她们无视男性在摇滚乐界的主导地位,用她们独特的声音对不仅是柏林还有纽约以及整个欧洲都产生了影响;Die Toedliche Doris则通过音乐伴奏的来表演艺术。 

 

你在中国所见到的俱乐部和乐队有没有让你想起当时在西柏林的那些日子?

我目前只是很荣幸的在成都看到一个俱乐部,里面的人彻夜朝天的演奏朋克。我觉得有点怀旧并且相当具有娱乐性,但却没什么新鲜的。另一方面,我在这边发现了非常独特的中国乐队。我最近在和一个叫秘密行动的本土乐队合作,他们很出色,我相信他们能带给中国很棒的东西。至于那些西柏林的感受,事实上成都带给我的感受比起西柏林,更加曼彻斯特一些。在西柏林做音乐的人们背后的原因和意识形态的差异性非常大。我们是少数派中的一小撮音乐片段。在柏林,人们做音乐不是为了逃避,因为他们已经逃到了西柏林,他们做音乐只是纯粹为了表达自己,这让他们的音乐听起来很不一样,很分裂和反传统。然而在曼彻斯特,你做音乐是因为你必须得做,这是你想逃避无聊又痛苦的日常生活的唯一选择。

你接下来会有什么新动向呢?

我最近刚完成我的新专辑《Mauerstadt》(意思是墙内的城市),它将会在五月底发行。它的特点是和一些新的艺术家像是The KVB、Ekkoes、MFU, Maja Pierro以及Queen of Hearts进行合作,还专门混合了我之前为Inspiral Carpets和New Order做的一些东西。这个标题提到了界限以及墙内的人们,但是它也暗示了思维的墙。我也被要求把关于techno时代我在90年代在柏林经营厂牌的的生活放在接下来的B级片里。

 

  • 门票
    成都水璟唐地下艺术空间 2017年4月29日 19:20
Purchase

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

发表评论

THE B-MOVIE GODFATHER

WechatIMG83-300x300

By 文章 Gavin Blackburn 音乐记者
视频:Lydia Mcaulay 造梦社
翻译 Translation:Han Shu 王涵澍
For anyone thinking of working in the music business, Mark Reeder's career reads like a Linkedin tick-list.
He cut his teeth working in Virgin Records flagship Manchester store before moving to Berlin in 1978 where he was the Germany rep for the now legendary Factory Records.

He went on to co-manage all-girl outfit Malaria!, toured with New Order in his band Shark Vegas and, after the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, founded the first ever dance music label in former East Berlin, MFS. He even found time to produce the last ever pop record released in East Germany (Torture by Die Vision), show John Peel around Berlin for his Travels with my Camera documentary and discover superstar DJ Paul van Dyk. As one of the earliest pioneers of the 90s EDM sub-genre trance, it's little wonder that a recent Smirnoff Wall of Sound documentary described Mark as “The Godfather of the Berlin Music Scene”. Throw in a handful of remixes for the likes of Pet Shop Boys and Depeche Mode and a couple of albums of his own and you'd think he'd be happy coasting into retirement with nothing left to prove. That might have been the case until a chance conversation in 2013 not led to the creation of “B Movie: Lust and Sound in West Berlin 1979-1989”, a documentary looking at the music scene in a divided Berlin which has – perhaps surprisingly – gone on to become one of the biggest critical successes of his career.


 WechatIMG75-300x300

 

How did the idea of B-Movie come about?

The basic idea for B-Movie was born out of a conversation between Heiko Lange and producer Joerg Hoppe. They wanted to make a doucumentary about the Berlin scene in the 1980s, but Joerg didn’t want to make a traditional talking heads documentary. His idea was to make a jigsaw of images set to 80s music. He asked me if I would be willing to restore the music that he wanted to use in the film so that it would sound good in the cinema. Because I had just released a surround sound album, ‘five point one’, he asked me if I could reconstruct the music in 5.1 too.

During our conversation, I suggested I send him some footage that I had of the time that I had made but never watched. I sent him my footage and didn’t hear anything back for two days then he called me and asked me round to talk. This feeling of fear suddenly hit me and I was thinking, ‘Oh God, what did I give him?!’

He had watched my footage and come to the conclusion that I should tell the story from the point of someone from that scene, as a Brit in Berlin during the 80s and all the things I experienced as it would give the film a more personal touch.

 

MV5BMTQ4ODIxMzk3Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTMyNzg4NjE@._V1_-225x300

 Was there any particular story you were keen to tell with the movie?

Not really, as up until that point I had no idea that my life could be remotely interesting to anyone. For me it was just my daily life. I have come to realise since that I have experienced quite a lot and I have so many stories that I probably wouldn’t know where to start.

How much of B-Movie is social document and how much is your personal journey through those days?

It’s nearly all my personal journey in one way or another. The images provide the social document. It shows a walled-in city, the very idea of which sounds dreadful, but it presents a picture of how a small group managed to weave around the obstacles and what this group of creative people managed to achieve under such circumstances.

 

The period the film covers pre-dates cellphones where everyone can photograph and film every minute of their lives. How difficult was it tracking down footage for the film?

I had lots of footage to start with from the TV programmes I had done for British TV or Swedish TV and a few movies I had appeared in and luckily I knew most of the local filmmakers, so much of it was quite easy to obtain, especially when someone like our mutual friend Knut Hoffmeister arrived with two suitcases full of Super8 footage. The difficulty was finding the images that matched the story.

 

The media has created this image of West Berlin which would have us believe there was punk in every club, Bowie was in every record store and there were spies on every corner...was it really like that?

Of course not.  There were a few clubs and bars, Bowie had left and the spies were everywhere. Berlin was vibrant, but the the scene was very small. We were a handful of people all interacting with one another.  New bands would appear at every event, but in reality it was always the same people under a new guise.

Living your day to day life back then, were you aware you were part of a "scene" that would be being talked about all these years later?

When you are part of a scene that is in the process of evolving, you never ever think about things like that and especially back then, we never thought of the future, because we all thought we would die in a nuclear holocaust. In retrospect, it all looks pretty straightforward. I was part of a scene and today we can look back and reflect on the impact it made on the music world. Back then we never considered it, it was just being creative. I guess if we had, we would have had more film and photos from that period.

WechatIMG81-300x300

West Berlin in the 80s certainly produced a number of interesting, experimental bands but how influential have they been on music?

Only three bands that I can mention have really had a truly lasting influence on the international art and music scene; Einstuerzende Neubauten, Malaria! and Die Toedliche Doris. They are like the holy trinity of the Berlin avant-garde scene. Neubauten were totally unique and original, choosing to perform with trash and old building materials rather than traditional instruments. They undoubtedly influenced bands like Depeche Mode to change their musical style. Malaria! were an all girl avant-garde band who didn’t adhere to the rules of male dominated rock and roll and they made a huge impact in both Berlin and New York and all over Europe, with their special sound, while Die Toedliche Doris were more performance art with musical accompaniment.   

 

Have you seen anything in the clubs and bands in China that reminds you of those West Berlin days?

I’ve only had the pleasure of seeing one club so far in Chengdu and they played punk all night. It was a bit nostalgic and very entertaining but nothing new. On the other hand I have found a very unique Chinese band here. I have recently been working with a fantastic local band called STOLEN and it’s my belief that they are on their way to achieving great things for China.  As for a West-Berlin feeling? To be honest, I get more of a Manchester vibe from Chengdu than the feeling of West Berlin. In West Berlin there was a very different ideology behind the reasons for making music. We were a very small music scene with a handful of people. In Berlin people didn’t make music to escape, as they had already escaped to West Berlin, they simply made music to express themselves, and that made the music sound very different, desperate and unconventional, whereas in Manchester you made music because you had to, it was the only way out if you wanted to escape the boredom and misery of everyday life. 

And what's next for Mark Reeder professionally?

I have recently finished my new album Mauerstadt (it means walled-in city), which will be released at the end of May. It features collaborations with new artists like The KVB, Ekkoes, MFU, Maja Pierro and Queen of Hearts, as well as exclusive mixes that I made for Inspiral Carpets and New Order. The title addresses the theme of boundaries and walling people in but it also refers to the walls in your mind too. I also have been asked to put together the follow-up to B-Movie, about my life during the techno years in Berlin during the 90s running a record label.

 

  • Ticket
    成都水璟唐地下艺术空间 April 29, 2017 19:20
Purchase

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply